Tags

, ,

9781455581641_p0_v1_s300xThis review is for an ARC ebook provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Will Thorne is a Sanguine demon (vampire who can also turn himself into a lethal shadow), whose sole purpose is to kill Holly Evernight. It was she who put a clockwork heart in him which has the agonizing side effect of slowly turning his mind and body into platinum. He’s also been left without most of his memories. When his assassination attempt fails, he is surprised by not only Holly’s healing touch, but also that she’s not the cold unfeeling monster he thought. Can these two lost souls forgive each other and find who is really trying to kill Holly? I wasn’t sure if I would like this 5th book in the Darkest London series. Holly came across as being kind of cold and unfeeling in the previous book Shadowdance, and Will despite his physical and mental anguish isn’t the most sympathetic character in the world. I was surprised as the story unfolded at how much I wound up liking them. Holly’s perceived coldness is a shield that she uses to hide the trauma of her past. While Will can be a bit obnoxious he winds up being so protective of Holly my heart wound up melting. What’s great about this series is that each book can be read as a stand-alone. I’ve liked reading them in order though because in each book the characters which will star in the next book are introduced. This is an entertaining book and series for readers who like Paranormal Romance, Victorian Fiction, and Steampunk.

Books in the Darkest London Series:

9781455508594_p0_v1_s300x9781455508587_p0_v1_s300x9781455520794_p0_v1_s300x9781455520817_p0_v1_s300x9781455581641_p0_v1_s300x9781455581665_p0_v1_s300x 

                                                           TBR Feb. 24th, 2015

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Advertisements