This is so eloquently written by Confessions of a Book Addict. If you have time this week, please read a banned book. I’m choosing The Perks of Being a Wallflower which has been on by TBR list for a while.

Confessions of a Book Geek

Banned Books Week 2014

I was always vaguely aware that there was such a thing as banned books, but I was still quite naive in my understanding of what constituted a “banned” book, and I was definitely under the impression that books weren’t banned in the democratic west of the world. I know, how wrong I was. What I found even more surprising are some of the titles that are challenged, including: Looking For Alaska by John Green, Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman, Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell and Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson.

Banned Books Week is an annual event held in September (though on this blog I will be posting about it for the entire month of September, including a giveaway and reviews of banned books). Just to kick things off I’ve decided to share why I believe in the freedom to read.

 I believe in the freedom to read.

View original post 309 more words

