Tags

, ,

9781484720943_p0_v1_s300x  I’ve got a gazillion books waiting for me to read, both on my Kindle and my bookshelf, so when I picked this up at the library I thought I’d just flip through this and it would tide me over until the last Percy Jackson book Blood of Olympus comes out on 10/7 (sniff). I should have known better. Starting with the introduction: “A publisher in New York asked me to write down what I know about the Greek gods, and I was like,’can we do this anonymously? Because I don’t need the Olympians mad at me again.’ But if it helps you know your Greek gods, and survive an encounter with them if they ever show up in your face, then I guess writing all this down will be my good deed for the week.” , it’s obvious this isn’t going to be your average book about Greek myths. Told from Percy’s POV this is not only educational but hysterically funny. Accompanied by John Rocco’s beautiful illustrations, it’s a perfect addition for YA and adult fans of Percy Jackson. I underscore YA and adult, because I wouldn’t recommend this for younger children due to the numerous references to rape and incest. That’s not to say they don’t belong. I mean, let’s face it, just like Grimm’s Fairytales, nasty things happen in myths. I just think that something like D’Auliere’s Book of Greek Myths would probably be more appropriate for younger fans. Otherwise I loved this book so much that I’ve asked Santa for it for Christmas. I know I’ll be re-reading it. 

