Tags

, ,

9780486783338_p0_v3_s300x This review is for an ebook provided to me by NetGalley and Dover in exchange for an honest review.

After reading A Christmas Horror Story, I thought I’d revisit something a little more traditional. Denslow’s Night Before Christmas is exquisitely illustrated by the artist who also was behind the artwork in The Wizard of Oz books. This book was originally published in 1902 but Dover’ s re-release retains all of the beautiful palette and whimsy of the original. It also has a foreword by the iconic American writer Grace Duffie Boylan which reminds you of the fascinating history behind the story. This is actually the first time I’ve read a picture book on my Kindle, and I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed it. The traditionalist in me still prefers an actual book, but I can see how families could enjoy this in an ebook format. I think this is a valuable addition to any Christmas collection.

