Tags

, , , ,

25852808

Thank you NetGalley and Pinnacle for providing an e-Arc in exchange for an honest review.

Release Date: March 29th, 2016

Synopsis: 

The Smallest Mistake.

Three went in; one came out. For five years, no trace has been found of two high-school friends who went hiking in the woods near Nashville. The third teen, Amber Ryder, was discovered at the bottom of a ravine with a broken arm, head trauma–And zero memory of the horror that put her there.

Will Put You There.

What started as a cold case has become a fresh hell for forensic technician Georgia Morgan. Another woman’s body is found in the woods, and it leads to the missing teens’ remains. But while Georgia works with Amber to try and reawaken her memories, her gut tells her the worst is yet to come. 

At A Killer’s Mercy.

Homicide Detective Jake Bishop can’t be sure whether Amber is an expert manipulator or the killer’s next target. Either way, he’s determined to protect Georgia. Because the deeper she digs into the past, the deadlier the secrets that emerge, and a nightmare years in the making is about to come to a bloody, terrifying end…

Vulnerable is a book that’s described as being romantic suspense, but sadly there’s little of either. Instead there’s wooden characters and a predictable, formulaic plot that held few surprises. As much as I tried I could not connect to either Georgia or Jake. Both are likable enough, but there’s little chemistry between them, and I actually thought they were completely mismatched. This made the two sexual scenes toward the end seem almost like an afterthought. The villains are pretty one-dimensional also. I love it when an author creates an antagonist where I feel as though I’m pulled right into their sick twisted minds. But like Georgia and Jake, I never got a true sense of who they were in this story, and what made them tick. The mystery is pretty predictable and I had already figured out the who, and why by the halfway point. I will say though, I found the descriptions of the forensic procedures used by Georgia really interesting and the story itself flowed smoothly. I also liked the bar scenes where Georgia moonlights singing because I actually felt as though I was in a honky-tonk bar in Nashville. The story itself flowed smoothly and was fast paced which made it a quick read. I know it’s hard to believe, but I usually like Mary Burton. I’ve read several of her past novels and have enjoyed them immensely. This is the fourth book in a series, but it works fine as a standalone. I’m wondering though if the fact that I haven’t read the previous books contributed to my disconnect, but I don’t think so. I recently read and reviewed Amanda Steven’s The Visitor which is also the fourth book in a series in which I hadn’t read the previous books. I enjoyed that so much I’ve ordered the first three books. Unfortunately after reading Vulnerable I’m  just not interested enough to go back and read the other books in the Morgans of Nashville series. Overall it’s not a bad book. For me it just doesn’t really have anyone or anything in it that distinguishes itself from the multitude of other books in this genre. I do want to point out that it has received plenty of good ratings on Goodreads. Actually, if you want to get another opinion, check out Carrie’s excellent review at: http://carriesbookreviews.wordpress.com 

