Tags

, , ,

29057066

Thank you NetGalley and Sourcebooks Fire for providing an e-ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Release Date: June 7th, 2016

Synopsis: Dear Kelsey,

My therapist tells me I should write you a letter. Like flushing all my thoughts and feelings out of my system and onto paper. I tell her it’s a stupid idea.

But here I am, writing a letter to a dead girl. Where do I start? Where did our story begin? From the moment you were born…or died?

I’ll start with the moment I found out about you. Your lies and my pain. Because it always begins and ends with you. And that end began when Rafe Lawrence came back to town…

Ava Hale will do anything to find her sister’s killer…although she’ll wish she hadn’t. Because the harder Ava looks, the more secrets she uncovers about Kelsey, and the more she begins to think that the girl she called sister was a liar. A sneak. A stranger.

And Kelsey’s murderer could be much closer than she thought…

I had a difficult time coming up with a rating for Frayed. While there were some genuinely good moments in it, in the end the bad outweighed the good which is why I wound up going with a lower rating. This is one of those stories where no one can be trusted, which in some respects I liked. Everyone seems to have hidden motivations and it’s intriguing discovering each one. I found Ava to be a difficult character to relate to though. While I sympathized with her circumstances, I found her incredibly annoying at times, particularly in regards to her relationship with her boyfriend. Her constant letting him off the hook really got on my nerves. As did her allowing herself to be used and walked on by just about everyone in her life. The secondary characters are all unlikable and have no real depth, and I found myself thinking on more than one occasion that I wouldn’t wish to meet any of them in real life. The identity of the murderer caught me completely by surprise, which ordinarily would be a good thing, but in this instance, the shock came because of a complete lack of foreshadowing. Just to make sure I hadn’t missed something, I went back and re-read a few chapters, but nope–not a hint. When the big reveal came it was totally out of the blue and made little sense to me. Ultimately I think Frayed could have been a much better book if more time had been spent on developing both the characters and the plot. It has received many positive reviews on Goodreads, so if the premise interests you, I definitely advise trying it. Personally though, this just wasn’t for me.

