image

Another week here in the United States where we’ve seen more tragic deaths. Both the African-American community and the police feel as though they’re under siege. Democrats are blaming guns, and Republicans are blaming President Obama and the Black Lives Matter movement. I’m not going to pretend that I know the answer. I will say that as a heterosexual caucasian woman living in a small-ish town in the Northeast, I’ve never felt as though I had a target on my back because of the color of my skin, or the uniform I wear. I’ve never had to worry about whether it’s safe to hold hands or kiss in public because my significant other is of the same gender. I’ve never been the target of violence or hateful remarks because of my religion. After all the remarks and speeches given over the last 48 hours, this plea from the Dallas Deputy Chief of Police, Malik Aziz, struck me the most:

Let’s be human beings. Let’s be honorable men and women and sit down at a table and say, ‘How can we not let this happen again?'”

Our country is at a tipping point. I fervently hope that these latest deaths are not in vain. We need to take a good long look at ourselves and what it means to be an American citizen. Everyone should be afforded the same rights, privileges and protections and not have to live in constant fear.

