Tags

, , , ,

img_0083

Thanks to NetGalley and Grand Central Publishing for providing an eARC in exchange for an honest review.

Release Date: October 25th, 2016

560 Pages

Synopsis: 

A TRAGIC DISAPPEARANCE

After a harrowing, otherworldly confrontation on the shores of Exmouth, Massachusetts, Special Agent A.X.L. Pendergast is missing, presumed dead.

A SHOCKING RETURN

Sick with grief, Pendergast’s ward, Constance, retreats to her chambers beneath the family mansion at 891 Riverside Drive–only to be taken captive by a shadowy figure from the past.

AN INTERNATIONAL MANHUNT 

Proctor, Pendergast’s longtime bodyguard, springs to action, chasing Constance’s kidnapper through cities, across oceans, and into wastelands unknown.

BUT IN A WORLD OF BLACK AND WHITE, NOTHING IS AS IT SEEMS

And by the time Proctor discovers the truth, a terrifying engine has stirred–and it may already be too late…

Before I get into the nitty-gritty of my review, as always, I want to caution readers that to really know and love Aloysius Pendergast, you have to read the previous books. If you don’t want, or have the time to go all the way back to the beginning, at the very least read the Diogenes trilogy, beginning with Brimstone. If you’re new to this series I know what a time commitment this is, but I’m telling you, it’s worth it. So, The Obsidian Chamber is one gigantic roller coaster ride made up of a multitude of plot twists, mysteries and an absolutely awesome cliffhanger. The story is for the most part divided between Pendergast, Constance, and Proctor. I’m going to be honest and admit that because I love Pendergast so much, I usually get quite cranky when a new book isn’t all about him. In this instance though, dividing the focus between the three characters really worked. I loved the stalwart and ever faithful Proctor finally getting the opportunity to show off his chops. And while Constance hasn’t been one of my favorite characters in the past, the inner workings of her mind is really put under the spotlight, and although I still have mixed feelings about her, I feel as though I understand her more. This book has three central themes: love, redemption and revenge. They’re all woven together in an intricate, beautiful and mesmerizing dance that leaves you on the edge of your seat. Starting from the very first chapters which made me think of Alfred Hitchcock, to the thrilling conclusion, to say this is a page-turner, doesn’t quite do it justice. If I have one complaint it’s that we only get one new Pendergast novel a year. Readers who are already fans will not be disappointed in 16th Pendergast outing. And if you’re new to this series, as I said, please go back and read the previous books. I guarantee it’s worth it!

