Tags

, , , ,

32935069

Thanks to Heena for sending me an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Release Date: June 24th, 2017

350 Pages

Synopsis: How well do you know your loved ones?

A girl struggling to cope with the murders of her mother and five-year-old brother.

A journalist chasing the ghost of a potential serial killer.

A thirteen-year-old girl who slaughtered her parents.

And a revenge-driven psychopath who is about to destroy everyone’s life.

After 9 years, a young writer is still coping with the brutal murders of her mother and five-year-old brother, as she moves into a house of horrors, to start a new life with her lover. Will friends and family be ably to redeem Ally out of the impending doom in time? Will her infallible love become the key to the destruction of her already fragile world? Will madness prevail over love; true love over revenge?

Deceived is a gripping psychological thriller that mazes through the deepest, darkest emotions of the human mind through the story of a vulnerable girl who treads in the mist of deception bred from a long unforgiven betrayal.

I’ve been eagerly anticipating reading Deceived since our fellow blogger Heena, announced several months ago that she was going to be coming out with her first novel. Before I proceed with my review, let me say, if you haven’t checked out her author blog at https://heenarathorep.com and her review blog at https://thereadingbud.com please do. I know to book lovers a cover can make a big difference as far as drawing our attention. As soon as I saw the cover of Deceived, I had to know more and I’m so happy to say that the story delivered on that first promise. The foreward which is written by crime blogger and author Patrick H. Moore, sets the tone by writing about the difference between Psychopaths and Sociopaths. From there the story takes off and maintains a very fast pace. Although I guessed at some revelations, there were others that managed to catch me by surprise. Heena does a great job juggling the perspectives of four different characters as well as two time periods set thirty years apart. There’s a nice seamless flow to the chapters, which when added to the fast pace, makes this book difficult to put down. The journal entries from the mysterious psychopath known only as “Mikey”, add a further creepy tone to the story. Some of the scenes, especially toward the end are graphically violent and bloody, which had even me cringing. None of these are gratuitous however, and they fit in with the rest of the story. One word of warning to animal lovers, Ally has a loyal German Shepherd named Max who does suffer at the hands of Mikey, so you might want to skim over those couple sections. There are just a couple of issues I ran into which prevented this from being a perfect read for me. The first concerns the dialogue between the characters. At certain times I found it to be awkward, which was a little distracting. And then there’s Allison, who I really liked, yet at the same time she left me extremely frustrated at times. She’s a smart, capable and independent woman, who’s survived this horrible trauma in her past, but she allows herself to be manipulated which results in not only her life being put in danger, but the people she loves and cares about as well. There are plenty of warning signs that she ignores, which had me wanting to take her by the shoulders and yell ” What is wrong with you? Wake up! Run and don’t look back!” Overall though, Deceived is a wonderful page-turner and I recommend it to mystery, suspense and psychological thriller enthusiasts. Heena has another book in the works called Sinister Town which I’m eagerly awaiting, especially after reading her exciting debut.

