Tags

, , ,

EBA4C204-9469-498C-9573-26350A404B38

Thanks to NetGalley and G.P. Putnam’s Sons for providing an eARC in exchange for an honest review.

Release Date: January 4th, 2022

384 Pages

Synopsis: The perfect girls’ weekend turns deadly in this twisty unforgettable thriller that is perfect for fans of Shari Lapena and Riley Sager.

A girls’ weekend to die for.

New friends Sam, Margaret and Diana are thrilled to be getting out of the city for a girls’ weekend—they’ve bonded over their messy divorces, and every mile on the odometer feels like another step towards putting their exes in the past. But when car trouble halfway into their trip strands them in the most unlikely of mountain towns, they come face-to-face with the hurts and betrayals they were so desperate to leave behind.

When Diana doesn’t return home after a night out, Sam and Margaret’s search for her reveals just how little they know about their friend. As eerie coincidences and secrets begin to pile up, and an ex-boyfriend arrives in the tiny town, the women realize that their detour may not have been a mistake…and that someone wants to guarantee that they never make it out. (Goodreads)

The Perfect Escape was a little slow to begin, but it didn’t take long to gather steam. Let me get my main criticism out of the way first. I did not like any of the characters. I found them annoyingly immature, and the switching between first person narratives at times confused me because they sounded so much alike. Usually when I find myself unable to connect with any of the characters, the story loses me as well, but in this case, the it was so much fun with it’s claustrophobic setting and many twists and turns that much to my surprise I wound up really enjoying this. After the first few chapters the action began to pick up and the farther I got in the harder it was to put this down. The finale made it even more difficult to get this out of my head and I found myself mulling it over hours after I finished. Because of the characters, The Perfect Escape wasn’t absolutely perfect for me, but it turned out to be a thoroughly entertaining read, and I’m quite glad I requested it. I’ll definitely be checking out Leah Konen’s next book.