Just When You Think a Trump Rally Can’t Be Entertaining

Tags

,

91CB38A4-CA6F-4B14-8DC0-23C98523B13A

I realize that I’ve burdened you all with a lot of Trumpish posts this past week, but in my defense this was a crazy week even for the “Crazytown” that the White House has become. I really wasn’t planning on doing another political post, but then something pretty remarkable happened at Trump’s Montana rally Thursday night. I don’t bother watching his rallies because there’s only so much I can take of his word salad, mispronunciation of words (in this case he gave a valiant try of saying anonymous twice, before giving up) and his greatest hits of: Crooked Hillary, his win of the Electoral College in the election that was almost two flippin’ years ago, his whining about the “obstructionist” Democrats, the press being the “enemy of the people”, etc. But when I woke up yesterday morning, #PlaidShirtGuy was trending and this video had gone viral. Well, while bets are still being placed on who Anonymous is, Plaid Shirt Guy has now been identified of 17-year-old Tyler Linfesty, a Billings, Montana high schooler and here’s his interview with CNN’s Don Lemon.

Advertisements

On the Lighter Side

Tags

, ,

7DFD75F4-7C0B-49BF-A177-ACD3065BD3E7

Well, I still haven’t managed to get my hands on a coveted copy of Bob Woodward’s forthcoming book, something I’m bitterly resentful about. Seriously, what makes CNN so special? But thanks to The Late Show with Stephen Colbert, we have some early thoughts from some reviewers I implicitly trust.

 

I Do Not Trust You, by Laura J Burns & Melinda Metz ~ 3.5 Stars

Tags

, , ,

1A94F98D-6D27-4111-8FBC-350D9FC6D3C3

Thanks to NetGalley and Wednesday Books for providing an eARC in exchange for an honest review.

Release Date: Available Now

320 Pages

Synopsis: Memphis “M” Engle is stubborn to a fault, graced with an almost absurd knowledge of long lost languages and cultures, and a heck of an opponent in a fight. In short: she’s awesome.

Ashwin Sood is a little too posh for her tastes, a member of an ancient cult (which she’s pretty sure counts for more than one strike against him), and has just informed Memphis that her father who she thought was dead isn’t and needs her help. 

From the catacombs of Paris to lost temples in the sacred forests, together they crisscross the globe, searching for the one thing that might save her father. But the closer they come to saving him—and the more they fall for one another—the closer they get to destroying the world.

I Do Not Trust You is the second book I’ve read by these two authors and while I didn’t enjoy it quite as much as their previous book, Sanctuary Bay, it was still an interesting read.

One of the strengths of the book are its characters. I loved both M and Ash and even though they spend a good chunk of the story not trusting each other, they actually wind up making a pretty fantastic team. As you get further along it becomes obvious that the two are reluctantly getting closer, but having to jump from country to country and trying to keep ahead of the villains, doesn’t leave much time for romance. Which is perfectly fine. I thought the lack of romance made their relationship more believable.

The different cultures depicted are beautifully written  as are the mythologies. The trouble I ran into was the pacing of the story. The first few chapters had plenty of action, but after that it seemed to subside until the last third of the book. Because of their quest and the globetrotting they were doing I expected more adventure, conflict, and excitement but there just seemed to be something missing. Still, despite me wanting more thrills, overall I did think this was a fun read and I would recommend it to fans of authors like Rick Riordan and movies like Indiana Jones.

Nike “Just Do It.” ~ 30th Anniversary

Tags

, ,

AAB596D8-F2DD-4FD5-AD62-48D07E143AFB

Many of you have already heard of Nike’s 30th Anniversary Just Do It campaign. Among other incredible athletes, it features football player Colin Kaepernick, who began kneeling during the national anthem two years ago to call attention to racial injustices and police brutality against African Americans. From Mr. Trump weighing in, to critics calling for a boycott against Nike and burning their products, this has been all over the internet. There are also plenty of supporters, of which I am one. I think it’s brilliant and inspiring. Here’s the ad in its entirety so you can judge for yourself.

The Perfect Friend, by Barbara Copperthwaite ~ 4.5 Stars

Tags

, ,

2D2D46E6-F5FE-4CA3-8698-660708CF2BDF

Thanks to NetGalley and Bookouture for providing an eARC in exchange for an honest review.

Release Date: Available Now

320 Pages

Synopsis: She’ll do anything for you…

My name is Alex, and my world has been shattered.

My husband has left me.

My children won’t speak to me.

My friend Carrie is the only person I have.

She’s the only one I can trust to keep all my secrets.

She’d never do anything to let me down.

Would she?

This dark, gripping psychological thriller will have you holding your breath until the very last page. Fans of Behind Closed Doors, Sometimes I Lie, and The Girl on the Train will be captivated. 

The Perfect Friend is another winning psychological suspense from Barbara Copperthwaite that will keep you guessing almost right up until the end! This is the fourth book I’ve read by her so I know now to expect the unexpected when it comes to her characters and storylines. If you enjoy twisty mysteries with unreliable characters and plenty of suspense, I can’t recommend The Perfect Friend highly enough. It will grab your attention from the very first page and I guarantee you’ll find it impossible to put down.

Who Wrote This Anonymous NY Times Op-ED Piece Regarding President Trump?

The incomparable Granda has put together this fantastic post about the stunning op-ed by an anonymous senior White House official. I have to be honest, I have mixed feelings about this. What do you think? Is this an act of courage or cowardice?

Gronda Morin

Image result for photos of staffers working in the white house

On the 5th of September 2018, the New York Times has made the unprecedented move to publish an op-ed piece by an anonymous source. The NY Times executives know who the insider is but they are withholding his /her name for his/ her protection.

The op-ed piece reinforces what is depicted in the recently published Bob Woodward book, ‘Fear.’

Most Americans have figured out that the republican President Donald Trump is unfit to carry out the duties required of the US presidency. What we can’t figure out and forgive are that the GOP members working in the US Congress have failed in their oversight duties to protect this country and its citizens from the harm being rendered to its institutions and to its democratic values by this immoral, incompetent leader. They have been MIA in living up to their oaths of office.

Related image

Here is the rest of the story…

As…

View original post 1,064 more words

Fear: Trump in the White House, by Bob Woodward

Tags

,

7DFD75F4-7C0B-49BF-A177-ACD3065BD3E7

Sadly this is not a book review as Fear: Trump in the White House, by Pulitzer Prize winning author Bob Woodward isn’t being published until next Tuesday, but I already have my hold placed at the library and rest assured as soon as I read it I will post my review. Unlike the two previous authors of books on a Trump, Omarosa and Michael Wolff, Bob Woodward is a highly respected journalist and author, so it’s going to be difficult to tear him down. There are of course some juicy tidbits already leaking out including this bizarre, rambling phone conversation between Woodward and Mr. Trump.

Yeah. This is gonna be GOOD!

5975AFEC-9B6E-4C18-B9B6-1E7238228EB1

0C932298-649C-404C-8BD7-592F88DE0862

The Brink of Darkness (The Edge of Everything #2), by Jeff Giles ~ 5.0 Stars

Tags

, , , ,

D85CB1FB-856A-40A0-B00F-FA7C4E6C03A8

Thanks to NetGalley and Bloomsbury USA Childrens for providing an eARC in exchange for an honest review.

Release Date: Available Now

400 Pages

Synopsis: Things have changed for seventeen-year-old Zoe since the otherworldly events that brought her together with the mysterious bounty hunter she calls X. In order to save Zoe and her family, X has done the unthinkable—he’s given up his freedom and returned to captivity in the Lowlands.

X is determined to break the lords’ hold on him once and for all, but being stripped of his power pushes him toward a darkness he’s never experienced and a past he’s never known. The secrets that surface could be the key to reuniting X and Zoe…or they could mean the destruction of everything they’ve been fighting for.

Gripping and full of heart, this epic continuation of Jeff Giles’ series—which already has rave reviews from the New York Times bestselling authors Kami Garcia, Melissa de la Cruz and Cassandra Clare, among others—will bring readers right to the edge of everything.

When I reviewed the first book of this duology last year, The Edge of Everything, I gave it 4 1/2 stars with my only issue being the insta-love between Zoe and X. In The Brink of Darkness, their relationship  is firmly established even though they spend a good part of the book separated, so I was able to completely buy into their romance. 

The story picks up immediately from the end of the previous book and even though it’s been a year, I was immediately sucked right back in. While X is in the underworld on a quest to find his mother and reunite with Zoe, she’s is back with her family and friends and worrying about X. I absolutely loved this couple and their devotion to one another. Neither lets anything or anyone stand in their way of protecting the other. And just like in the first book, the secondary characters are equally well written. The world building is amazing and readers get to see much more of the underworld, its inhabitants, and how it works. The story unfolds at a fast pace and the ending ties everything perfectly. My only disappointment is that this is the end. I find myself already missing the characters. I highly recommend this duology for teens and adult fans of YA paranormal. It’s original and creative and you won’t be able to prevent yourself from becoming attached to the characters.