Tags

, , , , ,

F4157AC9-644C-44FC-803F-E908A5D4C419

Thanks to NetGalley and Sourcebooks Fire for providing an eARC in exchange for an honest review.

Release Date: June 1st, 2021

362 Pages

Synopsis: For centuries, witches have maintained the climate, their power from the sun peaking in the season of their birth. But now their control is faltering as the atmosphere becomes mor erratic. All hope lies with Clara, an Everwitch whose rare magic is tied to every season.

In Autumn, Clara wants nothing to do with her power. It’s wild and volatile, and the price of her magic—losing the ones she loves—is too high, despite the increasingly dangerous weather.

In Winter, the world is on the precipice of disaster. Fires burn, storms rage, and Clara accepts that she’s the only one who can make a difference.

In Spring, she falls for Sang, the witch training her. As her magic grows, so do her feelings, until she’s terrified that Sang will be the next one she loses.

In Summer, Clara must choose between her power and her happiness, her duty, and the people she loves…before she loses Sang, her magic, and thrusts the world into chaos.

Practical Magic meets Twister in this debut contemporary fantasy standalone about heartbreaking power, the terror of our collapsing environment, and the ways we unknowingly change our fate. (Goodreads)

I liked the cover of The Nature of Witches, and the premise captured my attention as well. Unfortunately, try as I might, I found myself unable to connect with any of the characters, especially Clara. While I felt for her at times, there was just very little development with her. The romance between her and Sang was sweet, but nothing truly earth-shattering. Thankfully there were several aspects I did enjoy. I thought the magic itself very imaginative, and the setting and world building beautifully detailed. I also appreciated the creative way the author blended contemporary fantasy with climate change and social commentary. The book was also a quick read and I easily finished it in less than two days. So, for me, The Nature of Witches didn’t quite live up to my expectations, but I didn’t find it a chore to read either. And I have to point out that this is receiving a lot of 4-5 star reviews on Goodreads, so it could be just me. If the premise intrigues you, I recommend you give this a try.